About Us

The Tech Awards

A signature program of The Tech Museum of Innovation, The Tech Awards is an international awards program that honors innovators from around the world who are applying technology to benefit humanity.

To receive information about applying to The Tech Awards, please contact Barbara Carman   bcarman@thetech.org

How The Tech Awards Works

The Tech Awards, a signature program of The Tech Museum of Innovation, honors 10 international innovators who are applying technology to confront humanity’s most urgent challenges. The Tech Awards honors individuals, non-profit organizations and for-profit companies who are using technology to significantly improve human conditions in 5 awards categories. The technology used can be either a new invention or an innovative use of an existing technology. 


Young Innovator 
Economic Development

The Tech Awards Criteria

  • The use of technology to significantly improve the human condition. 
  • Evidence that a serious problem or challenge with broad significance is addressed by this use of technology.
  • A noteworthy contribution that surpasses previous or current solutions.
  • The potential for this use of technology to serve as an inspiration or model for others.
  • The technology application is in the field and has demonstrated a measurable benefit.
  • Impact will not play as important a role in the Young Innovators cateoory, but you must have a working prototype of your innovation. Additional credit will be given to Young Innovators who can demonstrate impact.


The James C. Morgan Global Humanitarian Award

Each year, an individual is honored whose broad vision and leadership on a global scale are helping find solutions to humanity's greatest challenges. View past recipients.

Selection and Awards

Completed applications are presented to the panel of judges. Two laureates are chosen in each category. At our annual gala, all laureates are awarded cash prizes of $50,000. 

The Tech Awards Gala

This formal event celebrates the laureates and The James C. Morgan Global Humanitarian Award recipient will also be in attendance to receive recognition. Learn more about The Tech Awards Gala.


The Tech Awards program was launched in November 2000, and The Tech Awards Gala was held in 2001 for the first time. The concept for the awards and the five universal categories were inspired in part by the State of the Future report, published by the Millennium Project of the American Council of the United Nations University. The report recommends that award recognition is an effective way to accelerate scientific breakthrough and technological applications to improve the human condition. The Tech Awards categories were inspired by the 15 Global Challenges identified in the report.

Learn more about our Partners and Sponsors.